Hello Joanne A

Hello Joanne

A Female Personal Assistant (PA) required for 43-year-old disabled woman with Muscular Dystrophy and complex health needs. I am looking for an EXPERIENCED female Carer/Personal Assistant . Their duties will be to help me Shazia with all aspects of my daily life, to include personal care and household chores.

I am a wheelchair user and live in Manchester with my family. I am a friendly and bubbly personality with an easy-going manner and a good sense of humour. I enjoy reading and going out to the cinema and theatre. I am a keen sports fan especially football. I like to follow the soaps and watch crime dramas in my spare time. My hobbies are history, politics and gardening. I also love baking and would hope it’s something we could do together.

I’m looking for staff to help with my care needs. I live with family, and have PA’s 24 hours a day to meet my needs ( inc a waking night).

The day time rate of pay is £9.30 per hour. The waking-night rate is £10.80 per hour. (Basic national minimum wage paid when shadowing for first week or two).

There are 5.6 weeks per year paid holiday (pro-rata) and statutory sick pay and double pay on bank holidays.
Various hours available over the week for right candidates. Looking for 2/3 staff to fill available hours.

Various hours available over the week for right candidates. Looking for 2/3 staff to fill available hours.

My PA’s help me with all aspects of daily living, including:
Personal Care, Hoisting, toileting, dressing, some cooking or meal prep, support with eating and drinking, medication given via PEG, support with ventilator and cough assist, liaising with professionals, some housework (eg hoovering, ironing, tidying).

I am able to communicate my needs and need kind and patient staff to listen and carry out my wishes.

A female, non-smoker is essential. You don’t need to have a driving licence as care is in the house, but you may want your own transport for early/late starts if you don’t live nearby.

Previous care experience preferred, but please send your CV if you are willing to learn, passionate about providing amazing support and ready to make a difference in your role.

A lot of my best staff had some care experience, but no PEG or ventilator experience, so don’t be put off applying for those reasons.

My staff team is friendly and supportive. PA’s who work with me should be compassionate, kind, person centred, good listeners and have a good work ethic. Flexibility and sense of humour appreciated!

As there are manual handling tasks you need to be fit enough to use a hoist, push a wheelchair, hoover etc.

Shazia Rashid